Final field set for 2017 RBC Canadian Open

temp fix empty alt images for attachment
SOUTHPORT, ENGLAND - JULY 21: Dustin Johnson of the United States hits his tee shot on the 6th hole during the second round of the 146th Open Championship at Royal Birkdale on July 21, 2017 in Southport, England. (Photo by Dan Mullan/Getty Images)

OAKVILLE, Ont. (Golf Canada) – Golf Canada and RBC are pleased to announce the final field of competitors vying for the US$6.0 million purse at the 2017 RBC Canadian Open, July 24-30 at Glen Abbey Golf Club.

World no. 1 Dustin Johnson will be challenged by a stellar field of PGA TOUR stars including world No. 18 Matt Kuchar, two-time Masters champion Bubba Watson, two-time RBC Canadian Open champion Jim Furyk, world No. 33 and 2013 RBC Canadian Open champion Brandt Snedeker, three-time PGA TOUR winners Ryan Palmer and Graeme McDowell, as well as World Golf Hall of Fame member Ernie Els.

Other notable additions to the field for the 108th playing of Canada’s National Open Championship include defending champion Jhonattan Vegas, Ian Poulter, 34-time PGA TOUR winner Vijay Singh, eight-time winner K.J. Choi, six-time winner Hunter Mahan, world No. 28 Kevin Chappell, world No. 39 Charley Hoffman, world no. 48 Gary Woodland and rising-star Tony Finau, who sits 27th on the FedEx Cup Point Standings.

“The field is nearly set and we’re ready to tee-up the 108th playing of Canada’s National Open Championship starting next week at Glen Abbey Golf Club,” said Tournament Director Brent McLaughlin. “It’s a big year for Canada celebrating 150 years and with a tremendous mix of international stars and the deepest field of Canadian talent ever, we couldn’t be more thrilled to treat fans to a world-class showcase of golf steeped in Canadiana.”

In total, 156 players will compete for the US$6.0 million purse next week in Oakville when Canada’s National Open Championship returns to Glen Abbey for a record 29th time.

Past Champions…

Defending champion Jhonattan Vegas will be joined by seven other former champions including Team RBC members Brandt Snedeker – who won in 2013 at Glen Abbey Golf Club – and Jim Furyk who claimed back-to-back championships in 2006 and 2007. Other confirmed past champions include Scott Piercy (2012), Sean O’Hair (2011), Carl Pettersson (2010), Chez Reavie (2008) and Vijay Singh (2004).

PGA Tour In-Year Winners…

A total of nine in-year PGA Tour winners will compete at Glen Abbey including Cody Gribble, Mackenzie Hughes, Harris English, Matt Kuchar, Hudson Swafford, Dustin Johnson, Adam Hadwin, D.A. Points and Kevin Chappell.

13 Canadians to compete for National Men’s Open Title…

World no. 54 Adam Hadwin of Abbotsford, B.C., will lead a 13-member Canadian contingent into Canada’s national Open championship. The 29-year old is in the midst of his finest season with a win at the Valpsar Championship and a 59 at the CareerBuilder Challenge. Hadwin will be joined by fellow recent PGA TOUR winners Mackenzie Hughes of Dundas, Ont. and Nick Taylor of Abbotsford, B.C. as well fellow Canadian fan favourites Graham DeLaet of Weyburn, Sask., David Hearn of Brantford, Ont., Brad Fritsch of Manotick, Ont. and Canadian Golf Hall of Fame member Mike Weir of Brights Grove, Ont.

Other Canadians confirmed include Jared du Toit, the 22-year old Team Canada member played in the final pairing at the 2016 RBC Canadian Open. The Calgary native returns to Glen Abbey as a professional hoping to recapture the magic that made him the story of last year’s championship.  Team Canada National Amateur Squad members Hugo Bernard of Mont St-Hilaire, Que., the reigning Canadian Men’s Amateur champion along with Austin James of Bath, Ont., will also compete.

Former Team Canada member Garrett Rank of Elmira, Ont., has earned his third consecutive RBC Canadian Open exemption by winning his third straight Canadian Men’s Mid-Amateur Championship. PGA of Canada professional Bryn Parry of Vancouver earned his way into the 2017 RBC Canadian Open by claiming the No. 1 position on the PGA of Canada Player Rankings presented by RBC, while former Team Canada member Matt Hill of Brights Grove, Ont., won the 144-player Ontario Regional Qualifier to earn an exemption.

The Canadians in the field have their sights set on becoming the first Canadian to capture the national title since Pat Fletcher claimed victory in 1954.

Final Tournament Exemptions to be Named…

The top three players on the Mackenzie Tour-PGA Tour Canada Order of Merit following this weekend’s Mackenzie Investments Open in Mirabel, Que. will earn exemptions into the field for the 2017 RBC Canadian Open.

The final four exemptions into the field for the 2017 RBC Canadian Open will be handed out at the Monday Final Qualifier on July 24 to be played at Heron Point Golf Links near Ancaster, Ont.

Click here for the full list of competitors competing in the 2017 RBC Canadian Open at Glen Abbey Golf Club from July 24-30.