Conducted by Golf Canada, the RBC Canadian Open was first contested in 1904.

Played annually continuously since then, except during World War I, World War II, and cancellations due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the RBC Canadian Open is the third oldest continuously running tournament on the PGA TOUR, after The Open Championship and the U.S. Open.

Only two players have been able to capture golf’s Triple Crown (consisting of winning all three National Open titles in the same season); they are Lee Trevino (1971) and Tiger Woods (2000).

As a national open, the event had a special status in the era before the professional tour system became dominant in golf.

The top three golfers on the Mackenzie Tour – PGA Tour Canada Order of Merit prior to the tournament are given entry into the Canadian Open.

Celebrated winners include Leo Diegel, Walter Hagen, Tommy Armour, Harry Cooper, Lawson Little, Sam Snead, Craig Wood, Byron Nelson, Doug Ford, Bobby Locke, Bob Charles, Arnold Palmer, Kel Nagle, Billy Casper, Gene Littler, Lee Trevino, Curtis Strange, Greg Norman, Nick Price, Vijay Singh, Mark O’Meara, Jim Furyk, Tiger Woods, Jason Day, Dustin Johnson and Rory McIlroy, just to name a few. The RBC Canadian Open is regarded as the most prestigious tournament never won by Jack Nicklaus, a seven-time runner-up.

Past champions