Final field released for 2019 RBC Canadian Open

temp fix empty alt images for attachment

World No. 1 Brooks Koepka, World No. 2 Dustin Johnson, World No. 4 Rory McIlroy and World No. 6 Justin Thomas along with past Major champions Bubba Watson, Sergio Garcia, Zach Johnson and Henrik Stenson headline exciting field for Canada’s National Open Championship

Canadian tournament exemptions include 2019 Web.com Tour winner Michael Gligic; European Tour player Austin Connelly; PGA TOUR China winner Richard Jung;  PGA TOUR Latinoamerica winner Drew Nesbitt; and Team Canada members Joey Savoie, Josh Whalen, and Chris Crisologo

Corey Conners, Adam Hadwin, Mackenzie Hughes, David Hearn, Nick Taylor, Ben Silverman, Roger Sloan, Adam Svensson, and Mike Weir headline list of 20 Canadians set to compete at Hamilton Golf and Country Club from June 3-9.

HAMILTON (Golf Canada) – Golf Canada and RBC are pleased to announce the final field vying for the US$7.6 million purse at the 2019 RBC Canadian Open, June 3-9 at Hamilton Golf and Country Club.

World no. 2 and Team RBC member Dustin Johnson will try to defend his title against a stellar field of PGA TOUR stars led by World No. 1 and 2019 PGA Championship winner Brooks Koepka. World No. 4 Rory McIlroy along with World No. 6 Justin Thomas will make their RBC Canadian Open debut and will be joined at Hamilton by former Masters champions Sergio Garcia, Danny Willet and Bubba Watson.

Other notable additions to the field for the 110th playing of Canada’s National Open Championship include FedExCup leader Matt Kuchar, Major champions Zach Johnson, Henrik Stenson, Jason Dufner, Padraig Harrington, Keegan Bradley and Jimmy Walker, along with former world No. 1 Luke Donald.

Johnson, a 20-time winner on the PGA TOUR, and Kuchar, a nine-time PGA TOUR winner will lead a roster of Team RBC players at Hamilton Golf and Country. Team RBC has seen unprecedented success in 2019 as Ryan Palmer, Graeme McDowell, Canadian Corey Conners, Johnson, and Kuchar have all won on the PGA TOUR.

Other Team RBC players competing including world no. 19 Webb Simpson, 2013 RBC Canadian Open champion Brandt Snedeker; Jim Furyk, a 17-time winner and two-time RBC Canadian Open champion, including at Hamilton in 2006; along with fellow Canadian Team RBC players Adam Hadwin, David Hearn, Nick Taylor, Ben Silverman, and Roger Sloan round out the contingent.

“The field is shaping up to be one of the best in recent memory and we’re ready to welcome the best players in the world teeing it up at the 110th playing of Canada’s National Open Championship,” said Tournament Director Bryan Crawford. “This year’s championship features a great mix of stars from all around the world, more than 30 combined Major titles and the deepest field of Canadian talent ever to challenge for our National Men’s Open title. Along with great golf, we’ll be offering fans so many great on-site experiences from our key partners, a new food initiative to try some of Hamilton’s best restaurants, and thanks to the RBCxMusic Concert series, fans can take in music from Florida Georgia Line and The Glorious Sons on Friday and Saturday.”

In total, 156 players will compete for the US$7.6 million purse next week in Hamilton when the RBC Canadian Open returns to the storied club for the first time since 2012 and sixth time ever.

Click here for a full field list for the 2019 RBC Canadian Open

PGA TOUR Season Winners…
A total of 11 in-year PGA TOUR winners (accounting for 13 PGA TOUR titles in 2018-19) will compete at Hamilton Golf and Country Club led by two-time winners Brooks Koepka (THE CJ CUP @ NINE BRIDGES, PGA Championship) and Matt Kuchar (Mayakoba Golf Classic and Sony Open). Other 2018-19 season winners include Kevin Tway (Safeway Open), Adam Long (Desert Classic), Martin Trainer (Puerto Rico Open), Dustin Johnson (WGC-Mexico Championship), Rory McIlroy (THE PLAYERS Championship), Graeme McDowell (Corales Puntacana Resort and Club Championship), Corey Conners (Valero Texas Open), Ryan Palmer (partnered with Jon Rahm at the Zurich Classic of New Orleans), and Sung Kang (AT&T Byron Nelson).

Past Champions…
Two past winners at Hamilton Golf and Country Club will be returning to familiar territory this year as 2006 winner Jim Furyk and 2012 winner Scott Piercy are in the field this year. Furyk also won the 2007 Canadian Open. Two other past RBC Canadian Open winners in the field at Hamilton are Brandt Snedeker (2013) and Dustin Johnson (2018).

The 2003 RBC Canadian Open was contested at Hamilton and won by Bob Tway. His son, Kevin Tway, will be in the field.

Twenty Canadians to compete for the National Men’s Open Title…
Leading the Canadian contingent at Hamilton will be Abbotsford, B.C. native and world No. 77 Adam Hadwin, who will return to Hamilton to play in his 10th RBC Canadian Open. Other confirmed Canadians include past PGA TOUR winners Mackenzie Hughes of nearby Dundas, Ont., Nick Taylor of Abbotsford, B.C., and Corey Conners of Listowel, Ont. Ben Silverman of Thornhill, Ont., David Hearn of Brantford, Ont., Adam Svensson of Surrey, B.C., and Roger Sloan of Merritt, B.C. round out Canada’s PGA TOUR contingent along with Canadian Golf Hall of Famer Mike Weir, making his 28th start at the Canadian Open.

Canadians receiving exemptions into this year’s RBC Canadian Open include Ryan Yip of Calgary along with Toronto natives Richard Jung and Drew Nesbitt.

Three members of Canada’s National Men’s Team—Joey Savoie of LaPrairie, Que., Chris Crisologo of Richmond, B.C. and Josh Whalen of Napanee, Ont.—have also received exemptions.

Dual-citizen and European Tour player Austin Connelly of Claire, N.S., who was recently announced as one of Canada’s representative for the upcoming Pan-Am Games in Lima, Peru, will play his third RBC Canadian Open.

Burlington’s Michael Gligic, a winner on the Web.com Tour in 2019, has earned a spot in the field as the highest-ranked golfer on the Web.com Tour’s season-long points list who played on the Mackenzie Tour-PGA TOUR Canada in 2018.

Marc-Etienne Bussieres of Quebec earned a place in this year’s RBC Canadian Open after finishing No. 1 on the PGA of Canada’s Order of Merit in 2018.

Local resident Michael Blair of Ancaster, Ont. won the Ontario Regional Qualifier to earn his spot in the field and amateur Matt Anderson of Mississauga, Ont. earned his spot by winning the Quebec Regional Qualifier.

Each of the 21 Canadian players in the field will look to become the first Canadian to capture the national title since Pat Fletcher accomplished the feat in 1954.

Two-time reigning Canadian Men’s Amateur Zach Bauchou of Forest, Virginia along with 2018 Canadian Men’s Mid-Amateur champion Joseph Deraney of Lexington, Kentucky will also compete at Hamilton.

Final Tournament Exemptions to be Named…
Following the Bayview Place DCBank Open presented by Times Colonist on the Mackenzie Tour-PGA TOUR Canada, the winner will earn an exemption to play in the 2019 RBC Canadian Open.

The final four exemptions into the field for the 2019 RBC Canadian Open will be handed out at the Monday Qualifier on June 3, to be played at Heron Point Golf Links near Ancaster, Ont.

Tickets for available rounds of the 2019 RBC Canadian Open can be purchased at www.rbccanadianopen.com.